Roadtrip to the Bay Area

As my roommate was born in the Bay Area, to be exact in Fremont, which is about 40 minutes away from San Francisco we decided to do a road trip. Nice for me because I haven’t been, except when I was really young, and nice for her to be able to see her family. I got off from work last Thursday even earlier than expected because my supervisor, was worried about me being stuck in traffic. So I left work at 11:30 instead of 2 o’clock as previously planned. We took interstate 5 instead of driving along the coast, just to save some time. We made it in 6 hours, including stops for coffee and restrooms. For some reason those 6 hours didn’t seem to be long at all, probable simply because I was so excited, and because we hardly had any traffic, what a miracle ๐Ÿ˜€

Friday morning we did a 6 miles long hike up to Mission Peak. This was the most intense hike I have ever done in my life, as it was so steep. My body told me about 20 times, I can’t go any further, but in my mind I kept telling myself you can do it. And the view finally being on top of the hill was definitely worth it. The area in general is beautiful, I didn’t know how much one can appreciate trees and green hills. The road trip was in the perfect time, as sadly in the summer months all the hills turn into the brownish color as well, as I know it from around LA. But oh well, I at least could enjoy the nature for a couple of days. We went to a Thai Restaurant in the evening with my roommates family and shared food family style, which was nice because this way I was able to try many different things. I love Thai food! Ending the day with relaxing in the hot tub was just perfect.

IMG_1872

IMG_1878

IMG_1880

IMG_1888

IMG_1898

On Saturday we left early in the morning to go to Berkeley and to San Francisco by bart, which is the train that connects most cities in the area. I highly appreciate it as it is so much more relaxing not having to drive, being stuck in traffic and finding a parking spot, especially in bigger cities like San Francisco. Again LA you suck, but only when it comes to traffic and public transportation! Berkeley was crowded as there was an information day for high school graduates going on. I loved the vibe of the city though, so many young people, original stores, and the campus is beautiful with all the trees around it.

IMG_1908

IMG_1912

San Francisco probable after being there for only one day, is one of the nicest cities I have ever seen. I love the architecture of the houses, and the steep streets make it so special. The taxi ride from Civic Center/Union Plaza to Fisherman’s Wharf felt like a roller coaster ride and again I was so glad that I didn’t have to drive by myself. The clam chowder soup and Fish & Chips I had at Alioto’s were really yummy. Can’t wait to come here again and enjoy a crab sandwich in May (hopefully I will make it to my host sisters graduation). After walking around Fisherman’s Wharf and having a view at the Golden Gate Bridge from the distance, we went to Ghiradellis, a really famous chocolate store. The Sea salt caramel sundae we had was delicious. We were able to enjoy some free Nespresso coffee at Union square, as a promotion was going on for a new line. Unfortunately George Clooney wasn’t there (there are commercials for Nespresso with him in Germany for many years now), but the coffee was still good ๐Ÿ˜‰ The day ended with some shopping at Macy’s and the surrounding streets.

IMG_1913

IMG_1915

IMG_1916

IMG_1917

IMG_1922

IMG_1923

IMG_1931

IMG_1935

IMG_1937

Sunday was more relaxing as we were quite sore from the hike and walking around the entire day. We relaxed outside as the weather was so nice, had coffee at Sujus and ended with a homemade dinner of chicken, Indian flavored salmon, asparagus and potatoes ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I got to enjoy traditional American homemade breakfast every morning, starting with sausage, hash browns with eggs and toast on Friday, ham, egg and cheese sandwiches on Saturday and French Toast on Sunday, yummy, but not something I could eat all the time. Reminded me a lot though of my High-School year in Virginia and what my host-family cooked, good memories ๐Ÿ™‚

All in all the weekend was really great. I enjoyed spending time with my roommate and her family while exploring new places!

โ€œDon’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.โ€ย โ€•ย Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

