Smell of America

So I came across this quote earlier this morning and I wanted to write about it because I believe it is so true.

‘The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it’, by Rudyard Kipling

Haven’t we all entered a room at some time in our life and suddenly a flood of memories occurred in our mind based on the scent that stroke our nose?! For me when I smell the scent of freshly made waffles I feel like I traveled back in time standing in my grandmothers kitchen, as we used to bake waffles almost every weekend when I was a child. Or the smell of vanilla will always remind me of my mom as she loves everything related to it. Or the scent of John Paul Gaultier – Le Male, will always put a smile on my face, as I remember me and my best friend going to the perfumery, when we were about 14 years old,  to spray it on our wrist thinking once we have a boyfriend he has to wear this perfume. I could continue like this forever…

So when I arrived in LA it wasn’t what I saw that made me realize I am back in the States, but it was the smell. I can’t even explain what the States smell like to me, but it does smell different than in Germany. Especially when entering some houses here, I feel like I am back in Virginia at my host-families place. LA has a different smell than Williamsburg or New York, but I guess it is influenced by the smell of the ocean which is so close to where I live. And I have to admit this smell of the ocean is great because it brings back all the good memories about previous trips I have done in my life. So even without all the gorgeous sunsets I was able to see while I was here, a walk at the beach with my eyes closed would be just pure relaxation for my mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

